Skip to content

About Me

Hi, I'm Jennifer Bernard

My name is Jennifer Bernard and I have a passion for helping new parents and families. As a nanny of 28 years I have been helping parents navigate parenthood and helping to raise their children. I have decided to take this passion for helping families and working with young children and make the transition to postpartum doula.

 I started babysitting at a very young age. I was only 10 years old when my parents signed me up for a Red Cross Babysitting course. My passion grew from this. I started babysitting children in my neighborhood. One of my favorite jobs was when I was in high school as a mother’s helper after school with her infant and preschooler. This cemented what I knew what I wanted my career to be. In college I studied Early Childhood Education and received my degree in Child and Family Studies. 

I became interested in doulas when one of the mom’s I worked for as a nanny told me about her brith story and mentioned her doula. So I started researching doulas and became very much interested in postpartum doula care. After much research I found the organization that fit me best, ProDoula. I am a certified Postpartum and Infant Care Doula. I am providing care for new parents and families in Portland, OR and surrounding areas. 

Your family will be provided with the guidance, support, and care it deserves in the fourth trimester. You will have an unbiased and non-judgmental person to rely on, whether you just need to talk and have an ear to listen, or you need non-medical advice such as feeding support, or just have someone hold the baby so you can get some much needed sleep. The whole family will be supported through postpartum doula care. The support will be there for you. I am very honored to be able to support new families.

I was born and raised in Portland, OR and have lived in the area my whole life. I cannot imagine living anywhere else, Oregon is so beautiful and has so much to offer. I love anything to do with the ocean and wildlife. I enjoy spending a day at the Oregon Coast and just getting outdoors. Lincoln City is my yearly ocean trip with my pup Riley. The Oregon Zoo is one of my favorite places in town. When I am not working I enjoy daily dog park romps with my mini Aussie, reading, cooking, walking, pilates, archery, bowling, and catching up with family and friends. I currently reside in Portland, OR.

Training & Experience

Let’s work together! Send me a message and I’ll be in touch.